Freeze-Frame

Folks, I’m tired.  TIRED.  So tired, I think I could sleep for a month, and I’d still be exhausted.  It’s a combination of stress (work), kids (waking up every few hours during the night), and…I don’t know what else. 

I started off well this week, and have since devolved into eating chocolate, sweets, and any other bit of crap I can think of.  Not good. 

I’m going through one of those periods when I feel pressure to FIGURE SHIT OUT, but I’m not quite sure what I need to figure out.  I think I’m experiencing a burn-out of sorts with teaching, for sure.  I haven’t had a semester off since…2007?  I didn’t take any time off when I had the boys, and I haven’t taken any summers off.  I wish I could afford to. 

I need a break.  Seriously.

I also feel this pressure (from myself) to start focusing on my writing again.  I want to apply to MFA programs in the next year, and start submitting pieces for publication again.  Along with that, I want/need a website devoted to writing, which has led to the debate about social media, and what I want public or private.  I don’t know that I want my students finding this blog, or my Twitter account.  But do I need to hide everything?  Do I want to?

All I know right now is that I need a break.  No grading, no diapers to change, or mouths to feed.  I need a date with my husband.  A real date, not a trip to Target or the grocery store.  We haven’t had a real date in…I can’t even remember. 

I just want to catch my breath before I move on.  Is that too much to ask?

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment