Weight Watchers: Week 11 Funk, November Goals

I’m not having a good day.  Not a good week, really.  I’ve been half-ass tracking (eTools, no paper tracking).  I haven’t been drinking much water at all.  In the beginning of the week, it was because I was stressed during the storm (we’re fine, though many around me are without power). I’ve been sneaking some of KidPilgrim’s Halloween candy here and there, and not being as careful about my portions.  But I’m not in horrible shape.  I’m only 15 over my weeklies right now.

I think I’m just in a little funk because the scale was up this morning.  I’m bloated.  And I’m sure that while some of that is related to not drinking water, most of it is because I have my period. AGAIN. I know that I just had a baby 2.5 months ago, and my hormones are still adjusting.  Plus I started birth control this month, so that’s adding to the mix.

I was just so damn close to the 10lb/5% mark, and I don’t think I’ll hit that on Saturday.

I know that weight loss is best if done slowly.  I know that.  But when I see that I’m heading into Week 12 on Saturday, and I still haven’t even hit 10lbs lost…well, that’s just depressing.

I also know that I’m driving my own bus, and that I need to keep at it.  And I will.

All of this struggle with weight loss led me to think about my dad this morning.  As I’ve written about before, my dad was involved with racing his entire life.  Several years ago, he owned a sprint car team.

Image

Sprint car racing is tough.  It’s expensive. Our car’s frame was old (most people bought new ones yearly; ours was from 2001 or so, and we used it for several seasons).  Our driver was not the most talented.  He never won while he was driving for us.  Occasionally, he’d lead laps, or win a heat race.  But most of the time, he was toward the back of the field. We knew each week that it would take a whole lot of luck for us to be near winning.  I mean, how can our little old team compete with the likes of Tony Stewart, as we did on several occasions?

I’d sit in the stands each week, though, and hoped for the best. Tried to will the car to the front with my positive thinking.  It didn’t quite work.

Some people asked why we showed up every week, even when we knew it would be a struggle.  My answer was always the same: “Because we have heart. We love this sport.”  For us, having the car out on the track, trying its best, was enough.

So, how does racing relate to weight loss?  Easy.  I’m not giving up.  I love myself, and I won’t give up on myself.  That’s really what this all comes down to.  It’s easy to hate yourself, focus on the negatives, and give up.  I’ve done that plenty of times.  Not this time. It may take me longer than I’d like, but I will get to goal this time.  I will be healthy.

With that in mind, here are my goals for November.  I need you guys to hold me accountable.

1. Blog weekly regarding WW and progress.

2. Make 10lbs lost, and 5% lost (same weight-ish).  [I’m about 3lbs away from this today].

3. Drink 100oz of water at least 5 days per week.

4. Activity — I’m on the last day of my ActiveLink Assessment.  Based on those results, I will update this with my Activity goal for the month.

5. Read a pleasure book 1/2 hour every day.

If any of you are struggling, or have any goals for the month (or for whatever time period), please post them.  I’ll be more than happy to help you in any way I can.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Weight Watchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weight Watchers: Week 11 Funk, November Goals

  1. rosed78 says:

    Totally in the same funk. Think I’m week 12, blah!!! This time that scale has slowed down. And with holidays and my birthday around the corner I need to get moving.
    Thanks for the post. I needed this.

    Rosed78 via twitter

  2. I think it’s great that you aren’t giving up — and you are right the best way to lose weight is slowly so that it stays off. Some weeks are just harder than others but we find a way to push through and it sounds like you already know the reason. Good luck!! 🙂

Leave a comment