The Post That Pissed Me Off (Or: I Am Bothered)

I was supposed to have fun today.  I’m not.

I woke up to rain this morning, which meant a day indulging my redneck parts was not meant to be.  My parents, husband, and I were going to take my nephew up to Pocono Raceway to watch NASCAR qualifying and hang amongst my people.

Yes, I love NASCAR.  I love racing.  LOVE IT.  But that’s not the point right now.

We decided to stay home, but still send The Kid to the in-laws for a few hours so that we could clean, do laundry, etc.  You know, grown-up chores.  Bah fucking humbug.

I’m annoyed.  Not because I’m not having fun.  OK, maybe that’s part of it.

I’m annoyed because I just read a blog post (yes, it counts as a chore because I say so) that pissed me off.  It disappointed me.

Listen.  I get that sometimes making fun of people is…well, fun.  I get that we all think we can do things better than everyone else, that we have the solutions to every problem, blah blah blah.  I can be just as mean as everyone else, if not meaner.  Cruel, even.

But most of the time, I choose not to be that way.  I give people the benefit of the doubt, recognize that not everyone is going to do things my way, believe in the same things I believe in, or do right by everyone 100% of the time.  I choose to be as optimistic as I can.  I choose to be as kind to people as I can be.  Because it’s the right thing to do.  Because it makes me feel better when I focus on positive things instead of the negative.

I started to comment on The Post That Pissed Me Off, but I deleted it.  There’s no point.  This person has cultivated a persona that supports and invites meanness.  It makes me sad, but there’s nothing I can do about it.

All I can do, I suppose, is cultivate my own sunshine and rainbows to counter the darkness they put into the world.

 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Post That Pissed Me Off (Or: I Am Bothered)

  1. paintedrunner says:

    Stay positive. To be fair it sounds like you are having a trying day. Tomorrw can only get better

  2. abradypus says:

    I could do with some sunshine and rainbows myself sometimes. Have a better tomorrow.

  3. Kayla says:

    whoah this blog is wonderful i love reading your articles. Stay up the good paintings! You realize, lots of people are looking around for this info, you can help them greatly.

Leave a comment