Pancakes Don’t Belong in Cars

Please tell me I’m not the only person to join Weight Watchers and gain right away?  Maybe it’s because I’m not new to the program; the magic just isn’t there.  I’ve been tracking (ok, aside from the past two days when the damn app and Etools just don’t want to work…and my ire causes me to “forget” about my paper tracker), but my eating habits haven’t changed.  And they so, so need to.

April sucks. Seriously.  Yeah, yeah, spring is here, and daffodils are in bloom, which is great.  But April means, for me, that the end of the semester is nearing, which means research papers, endless grading, and students who realize (too late) that they’re failing and start begging and attempting to bribe me.  Add my non-work life to that mix, and I’m one stressed Pilgrim.  And when I’m stressed and tired, I eat like crap.  Because, you know, eating like crap will TOTALLY make me feel better.

Right.

This morning, after dropping my diabetic cat off at the vet, I found myself craving McDonald’s hotcakes and sausage.  Me, the person who’s been showing Food, Inc. to her class this week, telling them that fast food is the DEVIL, and we need to eat healthy, whole foods.  I didn’t attempt to talk myself out of it, and ate my hotcakes in the car.  Because pancakes should be eaten in a car, not at a table where I can relax or anything.  I didn’t even enjoy them; I ate them like a dog, shoving the pieces in my mouth and choking them down.  I didn’t chew well enough, and felt the food want to lodge in my throat.  Because what I need is to choke on hotcakes and die in a McDonald’s parking lot. 

*sigh*

I need to break out of this.  Eating like crap doesn’t make me feel better.  I know that I feel better when I eat healthy food.  If I fell better, I can deal with the stress better.  But somehow, I forget that when I want hotcakes, or a Little Debbie brownie, or a third cup of coffee.  Not good. 

Anyone have any great tips for dealing with stress without eating like crap?  I really think I need to de-tox and somehow break free of the hold sugar has over me. 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

