Belated Meatless March Wrap-Up

I’ve always wanted to try a vegetarian diet, but usually only lasted a few days due to not being able to rid myself of the habit of turning to meat for food.  So, when I saw that Brooke and Emily were hosting a Meatless March challenge, I was in. 

Hubs was on board with no argument, thankfully.  He always wants to eat healthier, and since I’m the cook and he’s at my mercy, he was in on the challenge, too.  KidPilgrim was sort of in on it; there were certain meals that were too spicy for him, or that he didn’t care for, so I made sure he had other options if necessary. 

For the most part, I didn’t miss meat at all during the month. I did have one day where I caved and had a burger (it was a stressful day, and I “didn’t care” about my goals).  Otherwise, we ate plant-based — lots of lentils, beans, and greens.  By the end of the month, Hubs and I definitely noticed a big change in how we felt.  We were less fatigued, and our digestive systems were super happy.  For me, with my busted guts, this was a big, big deal!

We’ve decided to continue a plant-based diet.  Not quite vegan, but perhaps moving toward that gradually.  I do have some meat in the freezer that I’ll use up over the next month, but I don’t plan on buying more. 

I’m so grateful that I was a part of the challenge!

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

