Will You Take Me Back, Weight Watchers? Please?

In January, I left Weight Watchers.  It all started with a stuffed pepper.  It was full of brown rice, black beans, a little bit of cheese, some veggies…and it was 11 PointsPlus. 11. I was irritated that a simple stuffed pepper, filled with healthy things, was so pointy.  So I quit. 

OK, it was more than that.  I haven’t yet found a meeting that I love.  The meetings in my area tend to be filled with folks who are…older.  Who don’t know what quinoa is.  Who think that Weight Watchers is all about eating Fiber One Bars, and salads with no dressing.  I was tired of sitting through the meetings without anyone I could relate to. 

I needed a break.  So, I took one. 

I tried tracking using MyFitnessPal.  I love the database, the ease of calculating recipes on the app (seriously, Weight Watchers, y’all need to make that happen on the WW app!), and that many of my online friends were using it.  But it never clicked with me.  I don’t know if it was dealing with the larger numbers, or what, but I just couldn’t get the hang of it.  I found myself missing Weight Watchers and the simplicity of the program.  I missed having weekly points, and even just having a defined week.  I missed having to be accountable to someone.

I’ve been resisting going back, though, because of the cost, and because I’ve given up on it so many times before.  I can’t count the number of times (though I’m pretty sure my husband has kept track) that I’ve joined, swore it was THE LAST TIME, quit, and then rejoined, swearing again that it was THE VERY LAST TIME FOR REALS.  And, here I am again.

I signed up for WW this morning, and will go back to meetings on Saturday. 

When I told my husband, he rolled his eyes.  I can’t blame him.  All I can do is show him that I’m working hard.  He’s very supportive; I think he just wishes I’d find something to work for me. 

I know the problem lies with me.  With my dedication.  With my tendency to turn to food when I’m happy, sad, scared, stressed…anything.  I know that Weight Watchers works.  But I also know that I have a lot of work to do on myself.  I have come a long way, and have made a lot of positive changes in my life.  I just have to continue that journey.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Will You Take Me Back, Weight Watchers? Please?

  1. Girl, I can’t even begin to tell you the number of times I’ve joined, quit, rejoined, quit, rejoined, etc. It’s probably closing in on close to a dozen times, I’ll bet. It sucks that you haven’t found a meeting in the past that really “clicked” for you. It really does make a huge difference. If all else fails, you know you have tons of us on FB and Twitter who will support you 100%!

    • Mel, I hear you! I swear, I could start a WW museum with all of the various program materials I have.

      I adore all of my Twitter and FB pals, and I intend to lean on y’all a lot!

      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Susan says:

    I’m kind of like that as well with WW. I finally found a leader I like, and it’s clicking with me. The benefit you have over most is that you know healthy options, you’re one step ahead of most of us on the nutritional level, so you’re already lined up for success. So what if the people are old and duds, you can spice up their world a bit 🙂 Good luck!

  3. A good leader and group is really important. And, about the stuffed pepper. I can’t imagine what made it 11 points unless everything had been fried in oil beforehand!

  4. You could be telling my story. I recently returned to Weight watchers and I’ve been doing the points system but I honestly think I’m going to do their simply filling program. I’ve don’t it before and loved it. One thing I do love about them is the support not just at the meetings but online with my blog friends, twitter and facebook. Sounds like the stuffed pepper would have been 100% simply filling 🙂

    • Hi! I do want to try Simply Filling once I’m back in the swing of things. Since I’m eating primarily plant-based lately, I think it would work well. The thought of only having 49 points to work with makes me nervous, though!

      I’m so glad that you went back, and that it’s working for you!

Leave a Reply

