Rambling Tuesday

I need to ramble. 

  • Wisdom Teeth — the extraction went well.  I was in pain, very swollen, and it sucked.  I’m still healing, thanks to a slight complication.  But I think I’ll be back to normal within a few weeks.
  • Work — the spring semester has started, and so far, so good. The biggest problem is that I have 5 preps, and I’m struggling to stay organized with everything I have to do.  A few of the classes are completely new to me, which means reading and creating new assignments/material.  Which leads me to…
  • My Planner.  *sigh*  I started off the year with a planner, which started failing me when my task list exploded.  I tried using an app for my calendar/tasks, but I just feel better when I can write things down.  So I DIY’d a planner in a graph composition book, and that was working well until I realized that I needed more space for random lists, and then a student gave me an odd look when I pulled out my planner to write down an appointment.  So, again, I’m trying to find a system that works for me.  The challenge is that because most of my work is done at home, I need a planner that’s spacious enough for work/home schedule, and my work/home tasks.  I like to see a week at a time, too, so that I can see when my week is going to be crazy. 
  • Weight Watchers.  Well.  Thanks to my wisdom teeth procedure, I’ve lost weight this month.  But now that I’m mostly healed, I need to get back on track.  But I’m frustrated with Weight Watchers. Don’t get me wrong — I like the program, and I think that it works.  But, for some reason, it doesn’t work for me.  And I’m starting to have a really difficult time paying $50/month for it.  So, I’m considering breaking up with WW and going back to tracking calories on MyFitnessPal.  Honestly, I like the MFP app better, especially being able to calculate recipes on the app, where with WW I had to use the computer), and it’s FREE.  FREE is good right now.  Very good.  But I’m afraid that if I leave WW, I’ll fail again.  My motivation is lagging.  I’ve come a long way; I’ve lost over 40lbs since I had BabyPilgrim in August.  But I need to step it up and start exercising.  I have access to a gym on campus (for free!), but I haven’t used it yet.  Mostly because I was healing, but also because when I’m on campus, I try to get work done so that I don’t have to do it at home.  But I need to work out.  I know that I’ll feel better. 

I think that’s all for now.  Sorry for the rambling, and thanks for reading.  Any comments, guidance, or kicks in the ass would be appreciated. 🙂

 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rambling Tuesday

  1. Michelle says:

    Re: “But I need to work out. I know that I’ll feel better.” Try this on for size, “I want to work out. I know that I’ll feel better.” Want is so much more powerful than need. Want is internal, want is self-driven. For me, need reminds me too much of should. I’m jealous of your free work gym. For a while (before I achieved lifetime) I was paying for the gym AND ww. Now it’s just the gym.

    How is WW not working for you? You’re following the plan and not losing weight?

  2. Katie M. says:

    I’ve done the free trial a couple of times but I’ve never loved WW enough to actually pay for it. That being said, I love love love MyFitnessPal (username mrsminter)! Even though I’m pregnant now I still use it sometimes to see just how overboard I’ve gone some days. After the baby is born I will go back to using it religiously.

Leave a Reply

