On Surviving and Moving Forward

I survived the wisdom teeth extraction today.  AND I didn’t cry in front of Hot Dr. 

Call me silly, but since I had kids, I’ve been more aware of my mortality.  I’m terrified that something will happen, and that they’ll have to live without me.  Which they’ll have to do eventually, but I’d like them to be old enough to actually remember me. 

I know that wisdom teeth extraction is routine, but I was mostly concerned about a cyst in my jaw.  The Dr. planned on doing a biopsy, and was overly cautious in telling me that there was a slim chance it could be cancer.  So, I’ve had that in the back of my head for a month.  Thankfully, when he got in there today, he found that it wasn’t actually a mass, just a pocket of stuff, and there was nothing to biopsy.  Gross, but I’ll take it. 

I’m in pain, but he gave me some good drugs that I’ll take when I’m not on kid duty tonight. 

Most of all, I’m just relieved.  I didn’t realize how much all of this was weighing on me until after the procedure was over.  I finally feel like I can start planning my fitness and health goals for the year.  I’m starting C25K in a couple of weeks, and this WILL be the year I hit goal (or come damn close to it) on Weight Watchers.  I also plan on transitioning to a more veg*n diet throughout the year, something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. 

I’ve felt so…on hold…for the past year.  Getting pregnant unexpectedly (though I’m so grateful that it happened) and having to put all of my big plans on hold really threw me.  Now, nothing is standing in my way, and I love that feeling. 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

