Reverb12: The Feast

For the month of December, I’m participating in Reverb12, responding to prompts reflecting on my year.  If you’d like to participate, visit Daily Angst.

Prompt for December 7th: Feast: Hopefully you’ve had more than one spectacular meal in 2012, but what is the first that comes to mind?  Were you surrounded by family at the dining room table?  Sitting on a bench by the lake?  Bring us there.

Some of my most favorite meals are when I’m having a snack or lunch with my oldest son.  He’s 2.5 years old, and I love our conversations.  He’s curious, honest, and funny.  We have conversations about food, songs, stories, anything he wants.

He is also a very good influence when it comes to eating.  Most kids his age are into mac & cheese, and chicken nuggets.  He likes those foods, but he’d rather eat yogurt, fruit, veggies — healthy food.  And that, in turn, leads me to have healthier food.

My other favorite meals are the rare dinner-date nights with my husband.  We usually end up at a diner, as fancy meals just aren’t in our budget anymore.  Our conversations are different now that we have children.  We discuss practical things, and inevitably talk about how awesome our kids are.  I do miss the wooing, and the romantic nature of our old conversations, and I do hope to return to that someday.  But as a couple with two small children…well, our lives are lived in the practical for now.

If you are participating in Reverb12, please leave a link below.  I’d love to read your responses!

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

