Reverb12: Place

For the month of December, I’m participating in Reverb12, responding to prompts reflecting on my year.  If you’d like to participate, visit Daily Angst.

December 4th:  Place: What places anchored you this year? Or were you in search of new places and spaces to call your own and call home? Describe the place you love and why it means so much to you.

Oh, this is a tough one! I feel like it shouldn’t be since I have a home.

I’m definitely in search of a work home.  As an adjunct, I typically teach at several colleges per semester.  I don’t like it, but it’s necessary in order to make a decent amount of money, and to network.  I have a favorite college, and I hope to eventually land a full-time gig there.  I’m tired of being an adjunct.  I’m tired of being treated like a peon, and I’m especially tired of not having my own space on a campus.  I hate lugging all of my stuff around, and not being able to store things on campus.

The home I live with my boys was supposed to be transitional.  We were supposed to stay here five years, until we found our forever home.  We’ve been here ten years, with no end in sight.  One of my goals for 2013 is to get a handle on our budget so that we can start saving.  Our next home will be our last (I hope), and will be a small homestead where I can have chickens and a garden.  At least those.

Honestly, I keep hoping that my grandmother’s farm goes on the market at the right time.  The family had to sell it when she entered a nursing home.  It is, hands down, my favorite place on this planet.  I spent hours with my feet and hands in the dirt of her garden.  I wandered through her corn fields, wondering who would be lurking behind the stalks (I freaked myself out easily).  I walked into her kitchen, and went right to the counter that held homemade cookies and sweets.  I always thought I’d get married there.  I didn’t.  And it physically hurts to not be able to set foot on that land.

If you’re participating in Reverb12, please leave a link below.  I’d love to read your responses!

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

