Reverb12: Help

For the month of December, I’m participating in Reverb12, responding to prompts reflecting on my year.  If you’d like to participate, visit Daily Angst.

Dec. 2 Prompt: Help: Asking for help can be the hardest thing we ever do. When and how did you ask for help? Alternatively, did someone ask you for help and how did it play out?

I am a firm believer in asking for help.  It’s not always easy, but I’ve learned that trying to struggle on my own, or achieve things on my own, just leads to frustration.  More importantly, it can lead to failure.

Right now, I’m trying to lose weight and get healthy.  I could, as many people do, keep my goals to myself, and not tell anyone that I’m on Weight Watchers.  But I don’t.  Because if I hid it, it would be too easy to fail.  It would be easy to hide, and if I slack off, no one would know.  And, ultimately, I’d give up.  No one would be the wiser.  But since I want to succeed, I ask for  help.  I tell people what my goals are so that when I drift, they remind me of the course I’m on.  I tell people that I’m on Weight Watchers so that they question when I’m reaching for that 3rd Oreo.  They don’t tell me what to do; ultimately, I’m in control.  But having that support has been so key to my journey.

It’s also important because I know that I’m not alone.  If I tell people about my experiences, they share theirs.  And we realize that we’re not the only person to have certain feelings or experiences.  It validates us, in a sense.

People ask me for help all of the time.  It’s the nature of my job as a teacher.  I try to help my students the best that I can.  I want them all to succeed.  I give them all the tools I can, but it’s up to them to use them.

If you are participating in Reverb12, please leave a link in the comments.  I’d love to read your responses!

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

