Just the Four of Us…

I’ve been waiting for a “good” time to write about the birth of BabyPilgrim.  What I’m learning (or, re-learning every day) is that there is no “good” time.  There is only time.  And since August 9th, most of that has been taken up by these guys.

Image

I won’t bore you with the gory details of his birth day.  I was induced, spent most of the day waiting to dilate, and enjoyed the time with Hubs.  That time in the hospital was the longest time we had alone with the birth of Kid Pilgrim.  Sad, I know.

Image

Andrew Franklin Pilgrim was born at 2:47am on August 9th.  He was 8lbs 9oz, 22″.  So far, he loves to sleep, and is a pooping machine.  I hate to compare, but he’s pretty chill (so far) compared to how his brother was at this age.

Kid Pilgrim has adjusted pretty well to sharing everyone’s attention.  He loves his brother, which thrills me.  Any jealousy/anger he has (which, honestly, isn’t much so far) has been directed at Hubs and Me, and I’m ok with that.  We’ve been sure to give each of them individual attention, and that’s definitely helped.  Hubs has been great, too, taking a night “shift” so that I can get a few hours of sleep.  And my family has been a huge help, too.  I’m really very lucky.

It’s been odd to get used to having a newborn around again.  I love being able to talk and interact with Kid Pilgrim, and I wish I could do the same with the baby.  That will come, I know.  For now, I’m enjoying cuddling with him, laughing during tummy time, and changing endless poopy diapers.  OK, so I’m not enjoying the diapers.  But I know that he is my last child, and I want to cherish every moment I have with him.  Time honestly does fly by with kids.

I’m much less of a zombie this time than I was with my first.  I’m not sure why that is.  I guess part of it is that I know what to expect.  Or, I’m just really a mom now, and I’m conditioned to put the kids first.

I know that some of you may take issue with this, but I went back to Weight Watchers.  Not because I’m worried about taking off the baby weight (that will come in time), but because WW helps me eat healthier, and I really need that right now.  My guts have been bothering me (not to the point of explosion, thankfully), and I need to take control.  So, I went back, and am focusing on tracking my food and making better choices.  I’m not doing anything extreme at all, and I am listening to my Dr’s orders to rest, etc.  I’ve talked to my leader, and she’s fine with what I’m doing.  Honestly, it feels good to focus a little bit on myself again.

So, that’s the deal.  I hear the baby pooping (seriously, his farts are epic), so I see a dirty diaper in my immediate future.  Good times.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in motherhood, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just the Four of Us…

  1. Sabrina says:

    Congratulations on your baby boy! He is handsome!

Leave a Reply

