Monday Randomness

It’s only Monday, and I’m exhausted.  I’m pretty sure if I were able to have a moment to myself, I’d fall asleep within seconds.

I had my 30week OB appointment this morning.  All is well with Kid2.  I can’t believe I only have 10 weeks (or so) to go.  I’ve gained a little more than I wanted to, but my doc says I’m totally within my range.  She said I can expect to gain 10 more or so.  It makes me feel a little funny, but I know it’s only temporary.  As of today, I’m 2lbs away from my starting weight with WW in November 2010.  I was sad for a moment, but, again, it’s for a good cause, and it’s only temporary.  And come September, I’ll be back at WW.

In other news, I’m glad I took the time to reflect on Hubs the other day.  We were supposed to have a wonderful dinner out on Saturday to celebrate our date-a-versary, but his mom ended up in the hospital with some serious issues.  We managed to snag a quick dinner out, but he was preoccupied with worry.   I was a hormonal mess on Sunday, though, and after being with The Kid all day, stressing about work, and just worrying in general, I was a bit of a bitch to Hubs when he came home.  But somehow, he listened, and didn’t take it personally.  I’m so thankful that I can tell him everything, and that he’s so understanding.  I need to work on that myself.

Lastly, one of my online classes is discussion choices and stress this week.  I was reminded that everything is a choice.  We can choose to fail or choose to succeed at our goals.  So many people give up on themselves, and what they want.  It’s sad to me, but I think it shows that they just don’t want it badly enough.  I’m not saying that reaching goals is easy; it isn’t, and it shouldn’t be.  But we choose, every moment, whether to take actions that move us toward our goal or away from it.   I’m finding that I have less tolerance for people who give up on themselves or choose to fail.  I can’t drive their buses for them, or make choices for them.  I can offer support, but I can’t drag them along.  It’s frustrating, but it is what it is.

I’ll leave y’all with this from Randy Pausch: “The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people!”

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Randomness

  1. Yes. Yes, you’re right. We all make choices. Some positive, some negative. Excuses are excuses. But sometimes we cling to our excuses so we don’t get lost. And hopefully – just hopefully, we pull ourselves out of the Excuse Abyss and make something of ourselves……or just perhaps make it to our goals.

    • “Excuse Abyss” — I like that! I totally understand struggling, and imperfection. But it’s so frustrating to see students not own their choices, and to watch them constantly choose to fail because it’s easier.

Leave a Reply

