Lovey-Dovey Stuff

When I was a freshman in high school, I met a boy and fell in love.  Or, what I thought was love.  Drama ensued, mostly because I didn’t believe that I was worthy of being loved. Even after we broke up, and started dating other people, he never left my heart.

4 years later, on June 1, 1996, we went on a date.  Or, rather, I went over to hang out with him when he came home from college for the summer.  I still had feelings for him, but had just gotten out of a horrible relationship and just wanted to learn how to be on my own.  Fate had something else in mind. We’ve been together the past 16 years.

He is my favorite person in the world, along with The Kid.  He’s smart, kind, funny, and is the only person who has always accepted me for who I am.  He’s my home.

It’s been interesting to grow old with someone I’ve known since we were 13/14.  We’ve both changed, struggled, and we’ve endured so many challenges.  And even though there were times when doubt crept into our minds, or when things seemed doomed, we stayed together because ultimately, we love each other.  And we’re willing to work at our relationship.  We’re willing to accept each other’s flaws, and we’re willing to forgive.

The love I feel for him now, almost 23 years after we met, is much deeper and more real.  I’m so thankful it’s grown into that.  It gets us through the tough times and the not-so-tough times.  Most of our time and affection is directed toward The Kid nowadays.  There are days when I’m lucky to cuddle with Hubs for a minute before we’re pounced on by The Kid.  Sometimes, it’s frustrating.  But, honestly, I love our little family.  I love what we’ve created together.  It’s not perfect by any means.  It’s certainly not what I dreamed about when I was in high school signing my name “Mrs. B—-” on my book covers.  But it’s real, and it’s ours.

Anyway, before I suffocate you with The Sap, I’ll leave you with this song.  This, to me, is what love is about.

(If you’re not a Springsteen fan [you have no soul, and you’ve broken my heart] and just want to read the lyrics, here they are: http://brucespringsteen.net/songs/if-i-should-fall-behind)

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lovey-Dovey Stuff

  1. Sabrina says:

    That’s to darn cute and special. I love Love. 😉

Leave a Reply

