Braveheart told me to set some goals

Image

This is how I feel today.  Not like Mel Gibson (I think he’s a bit of a nutball), but like Braveheart. My (usually drunk) grandmother always claimed that we’re descendants of Wallace’s.  I don’t know how valid that is, but on days like today, I wonder if it’s true. I can’t go into details, but there’s something VERY WRONG going on at one of the schools I teach at, and I want to go all Braveheart on them.  I want to lead a revolution that will change everything.  Or, at least, expose the WRONGNESS of what is going on.  But I can’t.  Because I need my job.  But I’m trying to find a way to do something.  Anything. 

Staying silent is so difficult for me.  One of my resolutions is to be true of heart. I shouldn’t be afraid to speak my mind, right?  We’ll see.

In other news, it’s Hell Week for me, the week where I grade a ton of research papers and revisions before the end of the semester.  I hit a snag over the weekend — I ended up sick. I’m not sure if it was food poisoning or what, but I spent most of Saturday night puking.  Which is so much fun.  Ugh.  So, I’ve been frantically trying to get caught up so that I can return papers on Wednesday.  We’ll see how I do. 

Finally, I need to get back into setting goals each week.  I’ve been slacking on many fronts, and that needs to change.  So, with that in mind, here are my goals for the week. I’m shooting for meeting my goals for 80% of the week.  If I do, I’ll reward myself with a book or some new music.  Here are my goals:

1. Track my food. I haven’t tracked in a few weeks.  I got lazy.  I need to track my fiber intake because I know I haven’t been meeting my daily goals.

2. Drink at least 80 oz of water. I’ve also been slacking on water.

3.Eat vegetarian/vegan at least 4 days. I have been eating more vegetarian/vegan meals, and I feel so much better physically/mentally when I do. 

4.Read from a pleasure book at least 1/2 hour per day. This has been tough since I’ve been buried in student essays.  But it’s so important for me to read, and I need to make it a priority.

I’ll wrap up how I did with these goals on Sunday.  In the meantime, please check up on me!

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

