A Change

Sorry I haven’t been around, folks.  It’s not that I haven’t thought about blogging, or that I had nothing to say.  I’ve just been swamped with student essays, work, and life in general.

Life is good.  Not perfect, but good.  And changes are a comin’.

Over the past two weekends, Hubs and I have watched a couple of documentaries that have led us to rethink how we eat.  He’s tired all the time and unfocused.  I have massive digestive issues.  We’re hoping that a change of diet helps with these things.  So, we started

First, we watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead.  In this documentary, Joe Cross was dealing with an autoimmune disease, weight issues, and looked for an answer.  Supervised by Dr. Joel Fuhrman, he followed a plan to only consume juice for 60 days.  The film follows him during this time, and shows how he lost weight, went off medication, and became healthier than he’d ever been.  Along the way, he met a truck driver who was obese, depressed, and also dealing with health issues.  He eventually begins the juice fast, and finds a way to a healthier life.  Now, while I find the results of this juice fast intriguing, I just don’t think it’s for Hubs and I.  However, we are considering purchasing a juicer and incorporating more juice into our diets.  I’m wondering if juice will help me when I have diverticulitis flare ups and can’t consume whole, fresh fruits and vegetables.

Then, we watched Forks Over Knives.  It discusses the research of two doctors who studied (separately, then together) the effects of animal protein on the human body.  I’m not a scientist or a doctor, so please check out the movie for an understanding of what they discovered.  Here’s what I got out of it: consuming animal protein/products leads to heart disease, cancer, and everything else that will kill you or make you very unhealthy.  It scared the crap out of us.  We’ve often considering transitioning to a vegetarian diet, and eventually veganism, but just never did.  We’ve both had 30+ years of eating animals, and lots of crap.  That’s a hard habit to break for people like us.  But we need to.  So, we’re slowly moving into vegetarianism, and then eventually veganism.  For reals.  I’m educating myself on it the best I can, and I’m going to make sure that we all get the nutrients that we need.

Other than that, there’s not much new to report.  I’m halfway through my pregnancy, and feeling fine, mostly.  We’ll find out the gender of the baby on April 10th, and then I’m sure I’ll be begging everyone for name suggestions!

I’ll try not to stay away for so long this time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

