Here’s Your Sign

The other day, I was playing Words With Friends, and noticed an interesting message on the board.

Message in the game

And just like that, I had a sign.  To write poetry again.  To focus on publishing again.  All things I’ve been thinking about a lot, but have put on the back-burner because of teaching and family life.

But how can I make time to write when I have work, a kid, and everything else?  I’m struggling to find “me time” as it is.  I’m working on an application for a full-time teaching position, something I’ve wanted for a long time, but the position starts in the fall, right after I’ll give birth.  I’m not sure a FT position is right for me right now.  But if I don’t go for it, who knows when another position will open up?

Anyway, back to poetry.  I’m lucky enough to be surrounded by writers, and to be able to meet some famous poets from time to time.  I have the support system I need, almost.  I would LOVE to find an online or in-person writers’ group, too.

Somehow, someway, I need to start devoting more time to my writing.  And I have to take a leap of faith and start submitting my work for publication again.  I mean, when Words with Friends sends a message, you have to listen, right?

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here’s Your Sign

  1. I need to spend more time focusing on my writing too! Especially since I’m a creative writing major!

    • Yes, you do! It’s so important to write every day, even if you’re just playing with words or revising.

      What do you like to write?

      I’m toying with the idea of starting an online writing group, if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

