Resound Dec. 2-5 (Catching Up)

This month, I’m participating in a project hosted by my pal Jaemie, #resound11.  It calls for bloggers to reflect on 2011, and look forward to 2012. If you’d like more information, or to participate, go here.

I’ve been pretty much grading papers nonstop the past few days, and haven’t had time to pause and blog.  My grading pile is staring at me right now, but I wanted to get caught up on Resound11.  Sorry to lump several days together.

Dec. 2: Vices.  Did you slip back into any old habits that you wish you hadn’t? Did you gain any new habits that you wish you would have walked away from? Did you discover the evils of Nutella? ‘Fess up … we won’t tell.

Oh, Nutella!  Yes, I did discover the evil of Nutella this year.  But I’m learning to ration it out so it doesn’t do too much damage to my diet.  I didn’t really slip back into any old habits this year, which is a good thing.  I don’t think I picked up any new vices, either.  Does that make me boring?

*******************************************************************************************************

Dec. 3: What good have you done in 2011? Where do you really shine? What have you done that makes you proud of yourself?

Oh, I’ve done a lot of good!  I think so, anyway.  Most of my good is done in the classroom, and with my son.  Those who know me and my temper would be surprised, but I’m a very patient teacher.  I do my best to always believe in my students (most of whom don’t believe in themselves at all), and to be patient while they figure things out.  With my son, it can be a challenge (mostly when I want to do something and he won’t cooperate), but I’m trying to be the best mom I can be.  I think I’m doing a pretty good job.

I’m also willing to fight for what I believe in.  This has gotten me into trouble, but I won’t lie or sit back when I see something wrong.

‘Cause I know the biggest crime

Is just to throw up your hands

Say, this has nothing to do with me

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/-aHmq1U6lRs&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

 

************************************************************************************************************************

Dec. 4: Faster than a speeding bullet. More powerful than a locomotive. Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound … we know you’ve got one. What’s your 2011 superpower? For those of you going what the what … stop. Think about it for a moment: what have you learned that you can do better than anyone you know this year? What can you do that no one else can? Don’t be shy!

Oh, I don’t know.  I think the only thing I do better than anyone else is being the best me.

***************************************************************************************************************************

Dec. 5: If your life was a television show, what would its theme song be? What music would be cued at the start of the show or when you entered a scene?

Think about this past year. Is there a song that you’ve heard that has really struck a chord, one that has spoken to you? Maybe there’s a song that goes along with your one word for 2011. Maybe there is a song that you’ve heard that instantly cheers you up or makes you think of a special moment that happened this year?

It’s so difficult to choose one song!  So, I’ll give you two.

“Tiger” by Paula Cole is one of my favorite songs.  For so long, I was just caught up in being the smart girl, or the poet girl in school.  I gave in to what everyone else wanted, and believed what people wanted me to believe.  It wasn’t until I was 21 or so that I broke free from all that, and chose to just be…me.

i’m so tired of being shy
i’m not that girl anymore
i’m not that straight A anymore
i want to sit with my legs wide open and
laugh so loud that the whole damn restaurant
will turn and look at me and say
look at the tiger jumping out of her mouth

There aren’t any good videos for this on YouTube.  So go to Cole’s website and listen.  You won’t regret it.

Song #2 is a new song, “Hearse” by my girl Ani DiFranco.  It absolutely describes how I feel about my life right now, how much I love The Hubs, and how grateful I am for my life.

 

 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

