One Word

I’m participating in a project hosted by my pal Jaemie, #resound11.  It calls for bloggers to reflect on 2011, and look forward to 2012. If you’d like more information, or to participate, go here.

Prompt 1:

What is one word to describe your 2011? Why does that word sum up your year?

I’d have to say the word “Evolve” describes my year, on many levels.  I’m still evolving as a mother, learning how to balance family and myself.  I’m evolving as a teacher, branching out to a new college and new environment.  I’m evolving as a wife, learning how to balance motherhood and wifehood.  I’m evolving as a person, learning how to live a healthier life and to believe that I truly can accomplish anything I set out to do.

I’m learning that this life thing is hard.  Really.  It’s a good time (mostly), but it challenges us to constantly adapt to new challenges, environments, relationships, everything.  And we can sit and wallow in the face of those challenges, and decide to do what we always did even if that doesn’t work anymore, or we can try to find a new way to navigate the challenge, no matter how scary.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Word

  1. Evolve – what a great word! Conjures up lots of interesting images. This is my first visit to your blog. I found you via #Resound11 and will check back to see how your month is going! 🙂 ~Tui

  2. Marla says:

    Evolve is a perfect choice for you to sum up 2011. Your life is changing and you are taking it be the reins and moving forward.

  3. Paula says:

    I agree with Tui, it does conjure up interesting images. And it sounds like you have a lot going on in your life as well.

Leave a Reply

