Nov. 25: Thankful

Today, I’m thankful for my family.  Well, I’m thankful for them every day, but I chose to write about them today.  I was tempted to write about how I’m thankful that Kohl’s had a sale that enabled me to get a snazzy new Dutch Oven at a great price, but I wouldn’t want you to think I’m materialistic or anything.

The Hubs, The Kid, and I spent Thanksgiving with my family as we do every year.  My mom is an awesome cook, and prepares a fantastic meal every year.  We ate, we laughed, we groaned at how full we were by the end.  It was glorious.

My family, like all families, is not perfect.  We certainly have our share of issues and challenges.  But we genuinely like each other, and enjoy each other’s company.

I don’t know what I’d do without my mother.  She watches The Kid while I’m at work, and seems to absolutely enjoy each moment she spends with him.  Much of who he is, I owe to my mom.  I get my resilience from her, as well as my cooking skills.  She’s funny, smarter than she thinks she is, and a very practical woman.

My father and I are very much alike, which led to some spectacular fights when I lived at home.  We’re stubborn people who love to fight and test other people.  Many people write him off as a stupid mechanic, but he’s very bright, and rather philosophical.  He’s a rebel who grew up with his kids, and now cherishes his family more than anything.

My sister is my best friend, aside from The Hubs.  She’s a wonderful mom.  She’s smart, funny, and calls things as she sees them.  She’s always there for me, whether it’s to talk, or to ignore everything and watch cheesy movies.

I don’t know how I got so lucky with my family, but I’m so glad that I have them in my life.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

