Days 3, 4, and 5 of Being Thankful

I’ve missed a few days of being thankful.  The past few days have been…a challenge, in both good and bad ways.

Nov. 3: I’m thankful for my job.  Thursday night, I was honored to have dinner with poet Yusef Komunyakaa.  The school where I work has a fantastic Visiting Authors series, and since I’m an honorary member of the English faculty, I’m invited to the author dinners.  I’ve long been fascinated by Komunyakaa’s poetry, especially his work that deals with Vietnam.  As I’ve written before, my father’s brother was killed in Vietnam, and we’re still feeling the effects 40 years later.  I also love spending time with writers because it forces me to examine my own work and lack of devotion to it.  I used to write every day, but lately I’m lucky if I get to write once a week.  And I haven’t devoted any time to getting published.  But thanks to a conversation with Yusef and his assistant, that’s all changing!

Nov.  4: I’m grateful for my mother.  She’s my pal, my mama, and just an amazing person.  I’m grateful that she’s there to take care of my son while I’m at work.

Nov. 5: This is going to sound silly, but I’m grateful for my ability to cook, and feed my family.  The Kid is sick (strep), so we stayed home today.  I cooked a nice dinner, and it was so wonderful to sit down with The Hubs and The Kid and eat together.

I hope everyone is well, and taking time to be grateful every day.

I have papers to grade (yes, on a Saturday night!), but I’ll leave you with this.

 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

