Fight, Fight, Fight At All Costs

I’m having a day. The kind of day that makes me want to unplug, move, and go Amish. Or the kind of day that makes me want to storm into offices, and fight for what I believe in. It blows my mind that there are people out there who are okay with WRONGNESS. Who would rather protect themselves, or their job, and not fight for what is right.

Ah, this is nothing I can solve on this little blog.

But this aggravating day led me to spend my day arguing with people in my head, composing angry, righteous e-mails, and wanting to take over everything and make it right.

I have a very, very difficult time standing by and doing nothing. I’ve tried fighting this fight before, and I didn’t get anywhere. That doesn’t sit right with me, and I’m trying to decide what to do this time. My instinct is to fight, to be true of heart, but this fight…well, there’s no way I can win. I know this. But winning isn’t what matters to me, perhaps. If I stand up for what I believe in, then I know I’ve done all I can.

I’m waiting until Monday to calm down, and decide what to do.

I know I’ve posted lots of Buddy Wakefield’s work before, but I’m going to do it again. I find solace in it, and understanding. This is the first poem of his I heard (live, when he performed with my girl Ani DiFranco), and what changed my view of poetry. One line in particular resonates with me when I’m faced with these battles: “It is work to ride head up and holy here.”

It’s not easy, sometimes, to go against the grain and be true to ourselves. But it’s necessary. I try to live each day with my head up, and act according to my beliefs.

The poem begins at around 4:30, but the opening remarks are worth watching.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

