Shrinkvivor: Week 1, With a Guest Appearance by My Boobs

Well, folks the first week of Shrinkvivor is complete.

Here are my stats:

Starting Weight: 184.6

Week #1 Weight: 182.4

Loss: 2.2 lbs.

I’m very happy with my loss this week.  Things got a little hairy with some stress eating (more on that in a second), and I didn’t exercise as much as I wanted to, or should have.  Part of it was due to my biopsy (more on that, too, in a second).  The challenge this week was to log as many exercise minutes as possible.  I managed a dismal 66.  But it’s better than nothing.  And I plan on improving on that number this week.

I finally gave in and called the Dr. today because I hadn’t heard anything about the results of my biopsy, and I was getting a little (a lot) antsy.  Thankfully, the results showed no cancer.  NO CANCER!  I do have Fibroadenoma (basically, benign lumps).  I’m so relieved!

Maybe now I can stop stress eating.  I really need to develop other coping mechanisms aside from eating.   Because I’m with The Kid, or at work (teaching), I can’t always stop to exercise or meditate, or anything like that.  I’m finding that my worst times are when I’m stressed and driving.  Those days, I tend to stop at a fast-food place.  Not good.  Not healthy.

So, what do you do when you’re stressed/depressed/angry/happy and you want to eat?  I’d appreciate any advice!

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in health, medical, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shrinkvivor: Week 1, With a Guest Appearance by My Boobs

  1. ROBIN says:

    Yay!!!! so glad you got some good news. and congrats on the weight loss so far. Just stay focused….

  2. So happy to hear the good news! I had what seems like a similar situation a few weeks ago. Talk about stress. An emotional wreck!

    Anyway. Way to go on the loss!

    Stress eating? First, I remind myself that the relief is only temporary if I eat. The stress will still be there and then I will most likely add guilt (or some other unpleasant emotion) on top of the stress for eating because I’m stressed. What do I do? I run! Running clears my head and gives me a new perspective. Works like a charm. If not running, a favorite physically intense activity. Maybe a word or 2 of that will help 🙂

    Good luck with week 2!

  3. Oh, I’m so glad to hear you are cancer free! One less thing to worry about. Just keep tabs on those masses!

    As for what to do to help prevent stress eating…you do yoga right? Could you do some of the deep breathing (I forget the name) as you drive along in the car? I also highly suggest getting some inspirational, sing along, happy music and bust it out in the car! I see you like Adele, I bet it could get your mind off things if you were belting out Rolling in the Deep! Ooh..and also try Aretha Franklin!!

    I’ve also found that keeping water/crystal light etc in my car helps me just get something in my mouth…so during the musical break on those songs..slug down some water!

    Blogging is great, but you can’t do that in the car. Do you have a phone with a voice recorder? Can you click that on and dictate your feelings to yourself, say them out loud, put them on the recorder, you can choose to delete it later or you can use it to write a blog about how you felt in the car, or in one of those stuck situations.

    When I feel stressed and I’m NOT in the car, like if I’m at work…I just close my eyes and focus on my breath going into my lungs and expanding my chest and then going out of my lungs and my chest collapses…over and over, for even just 2-3 minutes!

    • Thank you! I’m going to make sure I do self-exams, and get my yearly mammograms for sure.

      I’m going to start taking yoga classes soon, and I’m hoping that helps with the stress. I do need to listen to music more, too! I used to listen all of the time, but got out of the habit when I had my son. It’s odd, I know.

      Great tip on the voice recorder! I’m going to give that a try!

Leave a Reply

