Waylon Jennings, Big Bird, and Me

One of The Kid’s favorite movies is Follow That Bird.  I never saw it when I was growing up, and I’ve enjoyed discovering it with him.  It’s a comforting movie to me, filled with the characters that I loved when I was young.

Lately, I’ve fallen in like with this song from the movie.  I’m not a huge Waylon Jennings fan (only because I’m not that familiar with his music), but I did like his narration of The Dukes of Hazzard. 

If you’ve been paying any attention to my posts or tweets,  you know that I’ve been…floundering a bit.  I’ve been a big ball of angst, stress, with no mojo.  I’ve often turned to music to help me get through whatever it was I was dealing with.  And lately, this song has helped me.  I need to be reminded that life will happen, and that life includes both the good and bad.  And that all of it makes up the road we’re on.

At some point each semester, I get frustrated with students who aren’t performing as well as I think they should.  And I have to remind myself that they are driving their own buses, controlling their own journey.  Well, I need to be reminded as well that I am in control of my own journey.  Sitting around feeling sorry for myself isn’t going to get me where I need to be.

A long time ago, my favorite English professor gave me a copy of the poem “Ithaka.”  I was so caught up in my goals and dreams that I was forgetting to enjoy the journey.

Have Ithaka always in your mind.
Your arrival there is what you are destined for.
But don’t in the least hurry the journey.
Better it last for years,
so that when you reach the island you are old,
rich with all you have gained on the way,
not expecting Ithaka to give you wealth.
Ithaka gave you a splendid journey.
Without her you would not have set out.
She hasn’t anything else to give you.

The past few days have been good in many ways.  I made it through the breast biopsy on Thursday, and I’m waiting for results.  I learned that there are certain foods (like peanut butter) that irritate my colon, and I’m staying away from them.  I remembered that I feel better when I exercise.  I’ve been tracking all of my food, and trying to stay within my WW points.  I went back to my Weight Watchers meeting on Saturday, where the topic was Motivation.  I was reminded of why I started this journey almost a year ago, and reminded that I need to constantly set new goals for myself.

So, yes, it sucks that I have to deal with all of these medical issues (which, honestly, aren’t that horrible, and I’m incredibly lucky compared to others), but it’s my journey.  There’s some sort of lesson that I need to learn out of all of this.  I suspect one lesson is that I am not Superwoman, and that I need to relax.  Maybe even put myself first occasionally.  And there are other lessons I may not realize for years, but I’m so ready to enjoy the ride.

Also, I’m so thankful for those of you who have tweeted, commented, and e-mailed support and good wishes.  I hold those messages close to me, and appreciate each and every one of you.

 


About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waylon Jennings, Big Bird, and Me

  1. Waylon’s always good for a lift, for sure. You are going to rock this ride!

  2. minxz says:

    Love this post! Thank you for sharing the song and the poem! I to am a firm believer in goals and plans but at the same time its vital to enjoy the journey or everything will have been about tomorrow..which is always a day away!

Leave a Reply

