Oprah Told Me I Should Be Grateful

Let’s get this out of the way: I’m not an Oprah fan. It was her “favorite things” shows that did it for me. Most of the items were way too expensive for any of her viewers, and I hate that she bragged about loving that stuff. But there wasn’t much on tv around 4pm, which was my “decompression” time after work for a while. So, I watched Oprah.

I did learn a few things from her over the years. One of the most important things I learned is that I should be grateful, every day, for all that I have.

It’s easy to forget about the good things in life, isn’t it? We get so wrapped up in our day-to-day lives. We talk to our friends and family about problems, how stressed we are, how screwed up life can be, but it seems that we rarely discuss the positive aspects of our lives. It’s almost as if to do so would be arrogant, so we keep those things to ourselves. I never understood that, but I do the same thing. I get shy when I mention what’s fantastic about my life. I almost feel guilty about it, especially if the person I’m talking to isn’t happy, or is going through a tough time. So, for the most part, I keep the great things about my life to myself.

Tonight, I was sitting in my office, hiding. I had a rough day at work (nothing horrible — I was just “off” in the classroom today, and I hate when that happens), I was tired, and The Kid was being super clingy. By the time The Hubs got home, I just wanted to hide. So I did. I sat at my desk, checking the Twitters, tweeted that I was crabby, and just sulked. Over nothing!

So, like a good Oprah disciple, I’m going to focus on the good things in my life. I am insanely lucky. Here’s why:

1. I married the love of my life. I’ve loved my husband since I was 14 years old. (Note: we haven’t been together that whole time. So, don’t worry, I dated other men!). He is my best friend, and the best husband I could ever hope for. He’s not perfect by any means, but I adore the man. He accepts me for who I am, supports me, and is a wonderful father to The Kid. He’s also in a band, so I get to be a groupie.

2. I have a great job. All I’ve ever wanted to do is teach (ok, and be a writer), and that’s exactly what I’m doing.

3. I don’t have to worry about my home (well, aside from the flooding in the basement lately) or being able to put food on the table.

4. I love my family. I’m very close to my parents and sister. I am so grateful for their love and friendship every day.

5. I am so grateful for my friends — both in person and online.

6. The Kid. I never thought that I would be a mother, for a variety of reasons. Motherhood has been the biggest challenge of my life, but it’s incredibly rewarding. It’s such a cliche, but I never thought I could love another person this much. He is kind, funny, smart, and the most beautiful creature I’ve ever seen. I am so honored to be his mother.

The Kid at dinner time

So, the next time I find myself wallowing in my self-created funk, I’ll try to remember to be grateful instead. Because being in a funk isn’t fun. And it’s certainly not productive, or being kind to myself.

What are you grateful for?

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oprah Told Me I Should Be Grateful

  1. This is a good reminder to celebrate our lives. 😉

  2. Laura says:

    He’s such a cutie 🙂

    I’m really grateful that I had the strength and ambition to leave a career I hated and was making me miserable for a new life. Most people can’t do that, but I now come home every day feeling so immensely blessed and happy that my life is amazing right now.

    I’m also grateful to my boyfriend for supporting me in so many ways! He’s definitely the love of my life, and I’m a lucky girl to have him 🙂

    Thanks for making me stop to be grateful today!

    • Oh, I hear you! When I was in college, I worked full-time in HR and health insurance. I was great at it, and made a lot of money, but it sucked the soul out of me. When I started grad school, I quit and started teaching (at about 1/8 the salary). It was hard, but I’m so much happier now. Yay for us being so brave!

  3. It’s so important to be grateful. Sometimes in the day-to-day it’s easy to forget but I love that when you stop and think about it you have many many reasons to feel so fortunate. Not a lot of people have the desire to even think about the good in their lives because it’s so much easier to be the victim or wonder why we’ve been wronged so many times.

    YOU, my busted-gut friend, are among the blessings in my life!

    PS – I love Lil’ John-Boy 🙂

Leave a Reply

