I Can’t Quit You, Weight Watchers

I’ve been a member of Weight Watchers on and off for the past 10 years.  I’ve always half-assed it, losing a little bit (without really changing my eating habits), then quit when I was wooed to the dark side by my pals Ben & Jerry.

When I re-joined last November, I swore it was for the last time.  I would change my ways and get healthy.  And I have made big changes.  I’ve lost around 27 pounds.  I don’t hate exercising anymore.  I want to run, and no one even has to chase me to get me to do it! But around May, I started to half-ass it again with relation to food.  And I ended up just maintaining my weight all summer.

Of course, instead of blaming myself, I blamed Weight Watchers.  The program bored me, we were too familiar with each other, and I needed something new.  Many of my Twitter pals have been successful with counting calories, so I decided to give that a try.  I started tracking using MyFitnessPal.  It’s a great website/app, and it was interesting to see where my diet fell with nutrients every day.  Unfortunately, I just couldn’t wrap my head around calories easily.  I’m not sure what it was.  My intention was to make healthy choices and hit all of my nutritional goals, but I ended up focusing on calories only.  Which meant that if it fit into my daily allowance, I ate it.  Even crappy, unhealthy foods.

Not good.

I made the decision this morning to give Weight Watchers one last try.  I’m not going back to meetings because I just can’t find one I like.  So, I’m switching to e-Tools and counting on my Twitter and Facebook pals for support.  Since I suspect that counting all fruits & veggies as 0 was an issue for me, I’m going to count points for anything fruits/veggies I eat over my 5 servings per day.  I’m going to make sure I earn Activity Points at least 4 days per week.  And I’m going to drink at least 80 oz of water daily.

I can’t half-ass this anymore.  Seriously.  So, if you notice that I am, kick me.  Hard.  In my fat ass.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Can’t Quit You, Weight Watchers

  1. Mary says:

    Raising a fist in Weight Watchers solidarity. Let’s do this thing!

  2. Seriously. We are going to kick so much September ass.

  3. suzanne says:

    Good plan! You can do it!!

  4. Adding my fist into the Weight Watchers solidarity crew!

  5. Paula says:

    You can do this. I lost 50 pounds and became a lifetime member 7 years ago. I quit going to meeting and gained it all back. I’m doing WW again and have 14 pounds more to lose to be back to free meetings. Can’t wait. I will NOT quit WW this time even after I get to goal. Biggest mistake of my life by far!!!

  6. abradypus says:

    Losing 27lbs and then maintaining it for a period of time isn’t being half-arsed. It is taking time to establish new base eating habits. Now you have, you are perfectly placed to start again.

  7. Laura says:

    You know I’m in for supporting! I’ll keep an eye out for your tweets!

Leave a Reply

