Update on my Guts

Because I know you’re all so concerned about my colon…

I saw the Dr. on Thursday.  I haven’t had much pain for the past week, I’ve been taking my meds, and watching my diet (ok, except for the one strawberry I couldn’t resist the other night on campus).  Since I’ve had two diverticulitis attacks in 6 months, the Dr. feels that it’s best that I have surgery.

Now, surgery when I’m healed means a resection.  Basically, they cut out the weakened part of my colon and attach the healthy tube back together.  If I were to have another attack, they may have to do a colostomy, where they cut out the weakened part, but I have to wear a bag (seriously, a bag full of shit) for several months. DO NOT WANT.

The problem is that I teach, and I can’t just take a month off from work to have surgery and recover.  I’d like to just schedule it for my winter break.

The Dr. is going to do a CT Scan mid-September, and we’ll go from there.  If it looks good, I have to be very careful, and I can have surgery in January.  If not, I’m fucked and have to have surgery ASAP.

So, that’s the deal.  If you could send healing vibes to my guts, I’d appreciate it.

 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on my Guts

  1. hazel says:

    Sending positive healing vibes your way!!!

  2. abradypus says:

    [Sends healing vibes (extra high strength)]

  3. This is me, sending your guts healing vibes!

Leave a Reply

