Shredding = Hospital

Deciding that I needed to challenge myself more, I joined a 30 Days of 30 Day Shred Challenge.  I’d tried it back in February, was incredibly sore, and forgot about it after my hospital stay.

I made it through some of the workouts, was very sore, but I was dealing with it.  I took a couple of rest days to enjoy my birthday.  I planned on getting right back to it after the birthday celebrations (ice cream cake) were over.

But that was not to be.  I woke up at 2am yesterday morning in pain.  Lots of abdominal pain.  And even though I’ve been careful about my diet, I knew it was diverticulitis.

So, my mom came up to the house to watch The Kid, and The Hubs and I went to the hospital at 5am.  The CT Scan showed that there was, again, a perforation in my colon, and fluid in my abdomen.  The Dr. quizzed me about my diet, and aside from being lax about eating fruit skins, I’ve been pretty good.  I asked if exercise could have brought it on, and he said yes.  YES.  So, this is all Jillian Michaels’  fault. I may write her a letter.

The Dr. explained that any activity that involves pushing down on the pelvic wall (pooping, giving birth, ab work, etc) can irritate the colon.  My colon is already weak due to this condition, so I have to be extra careful.  Who knew?!  So, no more shredding for me, ma.

I’m thankful that there’s no surgery this time, but next time I won’t be so lucky.  They’ll have to remove the affected part of my colon.  Not fun.  And certainly something that a person my age shouldn’t be dealing with.  But the Dr. said that they’re seeing more and more people my age with this disease.

I’ll be in here at least another day or two, hooked up to an IV pumping me full of meds.  I’m not allowed to eat or drink anything, aside from ice chips.

Good times.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shredding = Hospital

  1. Marla says:

    I would have never put ad work and colon issues together. I hope you are feeling better and can go home soon.

  2. Stacy aka FattyBoobaLatty says:

    First – know that I feel awful for what you are dealing with and I wish you a speedy recovery!
    Second – dear God in heaven thank you so much for the “no more shredding for me, ma” line. I couldn’t begin to count the number of times I have thrown some variation of that line out only to be met with blank stares – and finally – vindication!! I’m not the only one to ever see that damn movie.
    Third – see #2 – yep, I’m THAT happy about this.

Leave a Reply

