Birthday Girl: Turning 36

Today is my birthday.  Somehow, I’m turning 36.  I used to think that was old.  Like, adult old.  I know I’m an adult — I have a mortgage, I’m married, I have a kid, I have a job — but I don’t feel like one.  It’s difficult to explain.

The past year has been…a challenge.  One of big changes.  Normally, I’d look back, regret some things, and wish I could travel back and change them.  Not this year.  I’m tired of looking back.  Seriously! I know I’ve made mistakes, done some really stupid things, said things I regret, but I can’t change any of that.  I’m letting it go.

All I can do is look forward (as in, setting goals), but at the same time, be present. I’ve missed so much in my life, participating in things not fully present, because I’ve been looking backward, ahead, worried, stressed, angry, whatever.  I’m going to work on enjoying, or at least focusing on, every moment.  And I’m going to try like hell not to forget to have a good time.

I was going to list goals, but I really just want to enjoy this day with my family.  So I will.

I’ll leave you with a song, though. Listen to it.

Oh, and I’ll leave you with some advice:

1. Love yourself

2. Be kind to others

3. Be true of heart.  Live your life the way YOU want to.  Stand up for what you believe in.

4. Don’t forget to have a good time.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Girl: Turning 36

  1. Laura says:

    I was out of town yesterday so didn’t have a chance to stop by and say happy birthday!!!! I hope you have a wonderful, fit, year for this birthday!!

Leave a Reply

