Challenging Myself

Last week (or the week before), I was walking and thinking about how the scale hasn’t moved in two months (I know, I know, yay for maintaining), and how I felt like I hadn’t made any progress with my fitness.  I realized, all of a sudden, that I hadn’t been challenging myself.  I was walking the same mileage, not really pushing myself, and I wasn’t changing how I was eating.  Duh! In order for things to change, I have to change!

August is a big month for me.  I’m turning 36 on the 7th (gifts are gladly accepted), starting work at a new college, and facing the end of summer.  I’m also challenging myself.  Here’s the plan.

1. 30 DAYS OF SHRED IN AUGUST  I tried Shred in February, when I was just starting to work out.  I made it through less than 10 minutes of Level 1 and couldn’t walk for the next 3 days.  It’s been sitting on my dvd shelf ever since.  When I saw Jaemie’s challenge, I decided to give it another try.  Yesterday was the first day, and I dreaded it.  I had to stop to rest a couple of times (I paused the dvd while I did so that I wouldn’t miss anything), but I DID IT! I’m a little sore today, but it’s nowhere near as bad as it was in February!

2. FIRST STRIDES I started C25K a couple of months ago, and petered out at week 2 when my ankles started to hurt.  I know that my form is horrible, but I wasn’t sure what to do. I found this group, and it starts today.  See the site for more information, but it’s a group of women who are all training for a 5K in October (one I was going to sign up for anyway!).  I’m TERRIFIED.  I haven’t participated in a group athletic activity like this since gym class in high school.  But I’m going to give it my all, and learn as much as I can.

3. FOOD.  I got out of the habit of planning, and was just eating whatever was reasonable point-wise (ok, and some unreasonable things).  I’m back to planning, and trying to eat healthier, more nutritious foods.

4. TRACKING.  Along with tracking everything I eat, I’m also going to track more fitness.  I won a $50 Amazon gift card from the super awesome Laura and I used it to buy the FitBit I’ve been lusting after.  I can’t wait until it’s here!

5. SCHEDULE.  As of August 22, I’ll be teaching 5 classes between 2 colleges.  I need to be super organized in order to stay sane with all of the prepping and grading, so I’m trying to schedule everything.  My main priority for the past 16 months has been The Kid, and it will continue to be that way, but I need to start carving out time for myself.  More importantly, I need to a) recognize that I’m not Super Woman and can’t do everything, and b) ask for help.

So, that’s my plan for August.  Please hold me to it!

What’s your plan for the month?  How do you challenge yourself?

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Challenging Myself

  1. Laura says:

    Love these goals!! I will put a bug in your ear about two things though:

    1. Proper nutrition is the key factor in losing weight. I have struggled with this for so long, always thinking I needed to work out more or harder to lose weight. I lose inches when I work out hard, but I lose actual pounds when I diligently watch my food intake! Being injured and not being able to work out has caused me to be super strict with my food and I”m actually seeing consistent losses on the scale now!

    2. If your ankles are hurting when you run, you probably aren’t wearing the right shoes. I know you went to a running store a few weeks ago, though not sure if you got fitted for shoes. Getting proper shoes will make all the difference!

    Glad to hear you bought the fit bit! And glad you are joining a running group!! Running with others makes all the difference and I’m sure there are a lot of very nervous people like you that will be in your group!! Embrace being a newbie!

    • I really need to learn more about nutrition. Are there any books you’d recommend?

      I haven’t tried running in a few weeks. I’m going to see how I do tonight, and then probably head to the running store to get fitted.

      I’m terrified and excited about the running group. But I know that I need the accountability, the education, and the opportunity to meet folks in person who can help me on this journey!

      • Laura says:

        hmm no books off the top of my head. I’ll say the best resources I’ve found on the internet are on the spark people website. They have an entire nutrition library written by their RD that discusses common questions about nutrition and basic nutrition concepts. I think you also learn a lot about nutrition by consistently tracking what you eat and looking at how your nutrients shape up. Although on WW this isn’t really possible.

        If you ever want to do a skype session with me about nutrition, I’d be more than willing to do that with you. I can kind of walk you through any places you are confused about or help you.

      • Oh, I’d love a Skype session! I really want to start learning how to fuel my body instead of simply feeding it. I’ll check out Sparkpeople. I’ve been considering moving toward counting calories instead of WW. I like that most calorie counting apps/sites allow you to see where you fall with other nutrients as well.

  2. Awesome goals. I second the comment about getting fitted. I just got fitted on Sunday and boy does it make a difference. I’m in love! I had no idea how much they would help.

  3. I’ve seen a big shift in your outlook lately and I know that is going to help you achieve these goals. Planning sometimes sucks balls, but it has to be done, and I have a feeling you’re a good planner and organizer.

    I’ll be there with you at the running group in spirit!!

  4. emily says:

    Great goals!! Staying organized with a busy work schedule is definitely my weakness.

    Often times when the scale doesn’t move its not that we need to exercise more, but that we need to pay more attention to our food and calories in.

    • I do need to pay more attention to the food I’m eating. I was eating whatever fit in my points instead of what was nutritious. I’m trying to work on that.

      How do you stay organized with your schedule? Do you get up early or work out after work?

Leave a Reply

