June 1st Seems to be My Day

As I wrote yesterday, June 1st is a Big Day for me.

I wasn’t feeling so great when I woke up yesterday because The Kid is sick. He came down with a fever on Tuesday, and the Dr. said he’s just fighting off a virus. No big deal. Except that I was supposed to attenda viewing Tuesday night and a funeral yesterday. One of the professors who was a huge supporter of mine, and is now my colleague, buried his mother yesterday. I wanted to be there for him, as he’s been there for me countless times, but my mommy-duty trumps everything.

So, I woke up feeling guilty. And sad for my friend. I’m blessed to have both of my parents alive and well (ish), and I can’t imagine what it’s like to lose a parent.

My mom came over to help me with The Kid (I am so thankful for her), and I decided to run (not literally) over to Weight Watchers to weigh in. I felt too guilty to stay for the meeting, and wanted to be there for The Kid. I’ve been losing and gaining the same few pounds the past few weeks, and this past week decided to be more focused on tracking and activity. One thing that helped immensely was setting my eTools to draw from my earned Activity Points before my Weekly Points. That led me to strive to earn at least 5-6 points per day.

I’ve gotten into walking lately because it’s a great way for me to exercise while I’m with The Kid. He chills in his stroller while I sweat and push him. Even better, he usually ends up sleeping during the walk.

Anyway, approached the scale yesterday cautiously optimistic. I stepped on the scale, and the receptionist (a new one to me) made a face. Then she told me that I’d lost 4.6 pounds. IN ONE WEEK! That never happens to me. The super bonus is that loss led me to earn this:

20110601-030453.jpg

Weight Watchers 25lb Charm

It’s taken me a while, but I’ve finally lost 25 pounds.  I’m at my lowest weight in over a decade.

As I’ve said before, the support I get from my Twitter pals (especially Colleen) is what’s making this possible.  I love that if I need help, support, to brag, or anything, I have what I need in seconds from my Twitter pals (I hate the word “tweeps”).  I don’t hide my journey anymore.

So, like I said, June 1st is a Big Day for me.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in WW and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to June 1st Seems to be My Day

  1. Marla says:

    WTG! Congrats on your 25 pound loss!

  2. runorgocrazy says:

    Congratulations that’s fantastic!

  3. I am so proud of you! But I insist you refer to me as your Lead Tweep. Well done, J!

  4. suzanne says:

    Congratulations!! You rock

Leave a Reply

