A Big Day

Today is a Big Day. 15 years ago, two very important things happened to me.

First, I graduated with my Associate’s degree. Now, I have three degrees but my AA is my favorite one. I never thought I’d go to college. I knew that I was smart enough, but my family just didn’t have the money. The only person in my family who’d gone to college was my uncle, and he was killed in Vietnam. I thought that after high school, I’d get a job, get married, and have kids. You know, what my mother, aunts, and grandmothers did.

But somehow, I ended up enrolled at the local community college. I enrolled as a Business major (sensible), but soon realized that I wanted to teach. With support with my professors (some of whom are now my colleagues), and grants/student loans, I made it. Getting my degree that day was such a huge accomplishment. I left that college as a woman who believed in herself and had goals. I came back 11 years later to teach there part-time.

The second big thing that happened that day was my first adult date with my husband. We’d dated in high school, had tons of drama, and didn’t speak for a few years. In the meantime, I dated another guy for four years (ugh, horrible relationship). But more drama happened, and I was single for the first time in years. He came home from college for the summer, and we arranged to “hang out.” We’ve been together ever since.

Our relationship isn’t perfect, but I wouldn’t want anything else. He accepts for me who I am, and understands me (or at least tries to). He’s kind, funny, smart, and, aside from my son, my favorite person in the world. Cheesy, right? Go ahead, barf. I’ll wait.

I’ll leave you with a cheesy song that makes me think of my husband.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

