Tip: Remember Your Goals!

Normally, when I make goals or participate in a challenge, I come to a point where I decide to fail. I decide that having that doughnut, not exercising, whatever, are all more important than being healthy.  Lately, though, I’ve been on sort of a roll.  I’m succeeding at Weight Watchers, making better decisions, exercising (what???!!!), and moving toward a healthier life.

With that in mind, as I posted the last time, I signed up for the 100daychipquest. I met my goals for the first two days, and day three was looking great!

Until I forgot about my goals.

I was out shopping with my mother and son, and we decided to get some pizza for lunch. I had one slice (yes, I had the Points+ for it!) that I shared with my son.  I completely forgot about my no soda goal, though, and ordered a small soda (yes, I had the Points+ for that, too).  It wasn’t until 10 minutes or so after we ate that I remembered that I wasn’t supposed to have soda! I was so disappointed and frustrated with myself.

I realize that it wasn’t a horrible thing — I had the points for it, I ordered a small instead of my normal large — but I was disappointed that I wasn’t going to move on with the group.  I think I’m the first person to drop out, and I felt so left behind.  It would have been different, I think, if I had made a conscious decision to give up.  I hated that I was “failing” because I forgot my goal.

I went through sadness, anger, disappointment, self-loathing, and then I decided to be OK with it.  I couldn’t change the past; I could only choose to move on and try harder.

So, that’s what I’m doing.  My Twitter pal Colleen is going to be my 100daychipquest pal. I’m a few days behind the group, but I’ll get there! I’m so proud of what everyone is achieving, and I’m thankful to be a part of it.  Now, I just have to make sure I don’t forget my goals this time!

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in 100daychip, goals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tip: Remember Your Goals!

  1. First off, you don’t fail until you give up. You did NOT give up. Stuff happens. I commend you for moving on! You can (and WILL) do this! I have faith in you 🙂

Leave a Reply

