#100daychipquest

I’ve been struggling a bit with weight loss (among other things) lately, so I decided to start setting small, weekly goals.  This fit in nicely with the #7daychip community on Twitter.  I earned my first chip last week, meeting the goals of tracking all food eaten, and no soda.  I’m proud of myself, but those goals were ones I knew were attainable.  I need more of a challenge.

Just as I was thinking about how I could challenge myself, Brad came up with the #100daychipquest.  It excited me and terrified me at the same time, and before I could stop myself, I tweeted Brad to let him know that I’m in.  Now, for the goals.  As some of my students are constantly saying, I know that I need to “go big or go home.” But going big is not my style.  Why?

Because I don’t believe I can accomplish anything.

I’ve been jotting down goals for the past couple of days, discarding and adding based on my confidence level at the moment.  But the journey starts tomorrow, and I need to decide.

Here are my goals for the #100daychipquest:

1. No soda: I drink entirely too much soda.  I’ve cut down a lot since joining WW, but it needs to go.

2. Stay within WW Points daily:  I’ve been getting too lax with this recently.  I’m OK with using my Weekly Points Allowance, but for the past few weeks, I’ve been blowing through it and exceeding it.  So, I need to stick to my 29 P+ per day, and 49 Weekly P+.

3. Exercise for 30 minutes every day: This is the one that really terrifies me.  I hate to exercise. I’d rather sit in my comfy chair, cuddling with my son, and read a book.  But it’s important that I do it.  So I will.  30 minutes is totally doable.  Right?

4. Write down one thing I love about myself daily: I’ve always struggled with low self-esteem, and that needs to change.  I’m pretty awesome, and I need to start recognizing that.

Well, folks, that’s it!  Four lofty goals for the next 100 days.  I’m terrified.

 

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to #100daychipquest

  1. Monica says:

    You can do it!

    Love,
    A person who is on day 81 of a crazy 100 day challenge

    • Thanks, Monica! You were the one who inspired my exercise goal. I’ve been reading your Tweets about your successes and struggles, and I so admire all that you’ve accomplished! I spend way too much time sitting around, and I need to get off my butt and exercise!

  2. Jessie says:

    You can do this! We have faith in you!

  3. Seriously, how was I not following you before? DUH, COLLEEN!

    I really like your goals. They are a challenge but not impossible, which is how I set mine up. I’m sick of failing. I’m sick of making excuses for myself. I’m starting to see a change in the way things fit on me and I LIKE IT….so I want more.

    I love the Twitter community we’ve all formed. I can’t believe that for a very long time I said, “I just don’t understand what’s so great about Twitter…..”

    WE CAN DO THIS!!!

    Colleen
    Goodbye, Fat Girl!

  4. Those are GREAT goals, and I believe you CAN (and will!) accomplish anything! Let’s rock this!

  5. Elisha says:

    I LOVE your goal #4 especially. 🙂

    With #3, I’m in the same boat. I could be cuddling with my cute kid instead of exercise! But then I think, the best way for her to learn a healthy lifestyle is to watch me do it. Perhaps if my parents had been active at all I wouldn’t be in this situation now (not that I’m blaming them, I’m just saying).

    So if you want to be with him, perhaps the thing to do is find a way to incorporate him. Do arm curls using him as your weight. Climb up and down the stairs with him in your arms. Put him in the stroller and go for a walk. Include him as much as you can. And yes, I promise there are baby/toddler yoga resources out there! 😉

    • Thanks, Elisha!

      My son is the entire reason I’m on this journey. I’ve tried to get healthy in the past, but never loved myself enough to do it. Now, I want to be a healthy role model for him, and I want to make sure I’m around to watch him grow up!

      I’m definitely going to try to incorporate him! I’ll look out for some mommy/toddler yoga dvd’s this afternoon!

      Thanks for your support!

  6. Heidi says:

    I love your goals! Especially the daily habit of writing down one thing you love about yourself. I’m a firm believer that this process works best and is most maintainable when it comes from a place of self-love.

    I’m doing #100daychipquest too! My goals are on my blog if you want to check them out.

    • Thanks, Heidi! I’ve been in a pit of self-loathing for a while, and I need to pull myself out. Reflecting and writing down what I appreciate about myself has been so helpful! Heading over to your blog now!

Leave a Reply

