Where’s the Break?

I’m on Spring Break this week, but there’s really no break.  I’m still getting up early (thanks to The Kid), grading papers, and prepping for classes.  A colleague and I are presenting at a conference on Friday, so I’m getting ready for that, too.  I’m envious of everyone who actually gets to enjoy their breaks.  But I shouldn’t complain; at least I have a job.

In other news, last week, I wanted to break up with Weight Watchers.  I’m tired of counting Points+ (though I’ve been half-assing it), planning out meals (half-assing that, too), etc.  I’ve been a member of WW around 10 times in the past 10 years or so, and I’ve NEVER made it to my 10% goal.  I always give up right before I do, then gain all the weight back (and then some).

But, like a good girl, I went to my meeting Saturday morning and re-dedicated myself.  Sort of.  I’ve been tracking everything, but I’ve blown through my points AND my weeklies, thanks to a birthday party for The Kid on Saturday and my lack of control.  I feel like a failure.  And I kind of want to quit.  But I won’t.  I hope.

I’m trying so hard to stay positive.  I’m trying to set attainable goals, remind myself why it’s important to lose the weight and get healthy, but…ugh.  When I’m stressed out, food makes it better.  When I’m on mom-duty, which is pretty much CONSTANTLY, I can’t just go work out, or paint my nails, or do much of anything to distract myself from the stress.  So, I turn to food, like I’ve done for years.  It feels good (sometimes) while I’m eating it, and then I regret it.  And, I start the cycle of vowing to be “good” at the next meal, and sometimes I am.  Sometimes, not so much.

So, the question becomes, what do I do when I’m stressed/depressed/angry and I’m trapped, unable to turn to anything aside from food?

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in food, health, life, parenthood, WW. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where’s the Break?

  1. Laura says:

    I don’t want to sound discouraging – but have you ever considered trying something other than weight watchers? It just seems like if you have tried it 10 times in the past, maybe it’s the program that isn’t working for you. There are many other programs out there you can join! I myself use spark people and I love it.

    Do you know why you never make it to the 10% goal? If you can identify what the problem is, then you come up with a way to fix it and finally accomplish this goal you’ve had for so long! For me, it took seeing a therapist and deciding to change my job before I felt like I was able to take time for myself to lose weight. Hopefully yours isn’t as drastic as mine, but I hope you can figure out what has been holding you back all this time!

    Take it one meal at a time!

    • I have considered trying a program other than Weight Watchers, but I think I’m afraid to change because WW is so comfortable to me. And it DOES work, when I follow the guidelines. I’m giving it 3 more months, and then I may switch to counting calories.

      I don’t know why I don’t make to 10%. I guess it’s a combination of factors: boredom, I start to see a change and I’m happy with that, or binges that lead to more binges. I’m only 4lbs away from my 10% this time, and I will get there. The key will be pushing myself past it towards my ultimate weight goal.

Leave a Reply

