FebGTD: A Reflection and a Love Letter

One of my favorite folks on Twitter @FatGirlvsWorld coordinates a monthly challenge that I participated in this month.  February didn’t quite go as planned, and I didn’t meet any of my fitness goals due to my medical issues.  But I want to reflect on the month anyway as I prepare to participate again in March.

1. How do you think you did over the course of the month?

I’m not happy with how the month ended, but I don’t think there’s anything I could have done to prevent it.  I started out the month making big changes in my life — following Weight Watchers, and working out.  I didn’t turn into a gym rat, but I am proud of myself for making time to workout.

2. Did you overestimate or underestimate your capabilities?  Why is this?  Is this representative of a larger trend in your life?

I think I may have underestimated my capabilities.  I wanted to set easily attainable reasonable goals so that I wouldn’t set myself up for failure.  But I know that I could have done more.

3. Did you learn anything about yourself while doing this?

I learned that it is possible to be healthy and enjoy food & life.

4. Can you apply what you’ve learned in #[month]GTD somewhere else in your life?

I think so.  I need to believe in myself in all aspects of my life.  I also need to make time for myself.  I spend a lot of time doing things for other people (family, husband, The Kid), but I need to take care of myself, too.

5. Did you make any new friends through #[month]GTD — were you able to support each other?

I need to pay more attention to the other participants from now on.  I’ve made a lot of great friends on Twitter, and I so appreciate all of their support.

6. What was the hardest part of the challenge?  (physical? mental/psychological?)

For me, it was physical.  My diverticulitis issue mid-month really put everything on hold.  But, it forced me to recognize that I need to take care of myself to avoid future medical issues.

7. What do you think you did really well this month? (doesn’t have to be about #[month]GTD)

I don’t know.  I’ve definitely made progress toward a healthier lifestyle.  I’ve gotten better at asking for help or support.

8.What do you think you could improve on? (again, doesn’t have to be about #[month]GTD)

I need to love myself.

9. No matter the numbers you already entered, are you going to finish strong, or taper off?

I guess I tapered off.  But I’m going to start off strong in March!

10. Did you go the distance? And no, I don’t mean did you hit 100% of your goal… did you put yourself out there and really try for it?  Is 80% still something you can be proud of?

I’m proud of what I accomplished.  Did I hit my goal, or even half of it?  Nope.  But I worked out and counted my Points, even when I didn’t want to.  That’s something!

Credit: Righteous Babe Records

And since I need to work on loving myself, here’s a love letter to me.

Dear J,

Breathe.  Relax.  You get so caught up in what’s wrong, or not going well, that you forget how blessed you are.  How lucky you are.

Your life has changed tremendously over the past year.  You had a baby!  Your less-than-perfect body allowed you to grow a beautiful, healthy little boy inside of it.  You endured sleepless nights, and everything that goes along with the first few months of parenthood.  Your little boy looks to you for love and comfort, and gives you unconditional love.  Why can’t you do the same for yourself?

You have spent the past 15 years doubting yourself, hating your body, and wallowing in negativity.  All the while, you believed in others, encouraged them, and loved them.  But you’ve woken up now, and are starting to realize that you are worthy.  You are loved.  You have the capability to change your life and make it whatever you want.  You can be healthy.  You are worthy of being healthy.  And you will be.  Physically and mentally.

Love,

J.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FebGTD: A Reflection and a Love Letter

  1. Jessie says:

    Great post! I love your love letter. It sounds a lot like me!

Leave a Reply

