Another snow day…

We’ve had a ton of snow here the past month.  Normally, I love snow days.  I’d bake, clean, read, nap, and relax.  With The Kid, it’s not that easy.  We play, eat, try to nap (seriously, my kid hates to sleep), and I try to hold on to my sanity until The Husband comes home.

I never thought I’d be the kind of mother who yells, but I am.  I don’t mean to.  I hate it as I do it.  But there are moments when The Kid gets into something, or starts to head toward something dangerous (hot oven, basement door, etc) and I just hear myself start yelling.  I stop myself, pick him up, and give him lots of smooches, but I still feel like a terrible mother.  I know that a large part of it is because I’m cooped up and unable to do whatever I want (see list above).  He’s 10 months old, and I’m still struggling with losing my independence.  Is that horrible?

I know it will be better when it’s warmer out and I can take him to the park, etc.  But right now, the days seem endless, and I hate being so frustrated.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another snow day…

  1. Melody says:

    Don’t feel like you’re the only one. I remember sitting on the back porch steps with Cadi in
    my arms waiting for Jeff to get home and our biggest fights were about him being late because I was so desperate to get some relief!

  2. Karen says:

    When my boys were little I hated snow days. I missed having the time to myself and the house to myself. It was loud. I had to entertain them. I couldn’t do my usual routine or errands or whatever. I felt a bit selfish, actually. They grow up fast! Now, snow days are nothing. My teen will sleep the day away and then hang out with friends. It might still be loud if someone shows up here, but nothing like with little ones. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

