I will finish Reverb10…

For the month of December, I’m participating in a wonderful project called Reverb10. It calls for bloggers to reflect on daily prompts in preparation for 2011. For more information, see Reverb10.

December 21 – Future Self. Imagine yourself five years from now. What advice would you give your current self for the year ahead?

Wow, I’m not sure where I’ll be in five years.  Really.  Is that bad?  Life is just changing so rapidly for me right now that it’s so hard for me to imagine where I’ll be in a month, let alone five years from  now.

*********************************************************************************

December 22 – Travel. How did you travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year? (Author: Tara Hunt)

We didn’t travel much in 2010.  We did manage to go to Ocean City, NJ and Long Beach Island, but other than that, we stayed close to home because of The Kid.  We typically vacation in New England every year, and I hope that will be the case in 2011.  I miss Maine.  I miss lobster.  I miss a more laid back lifestyle.

******************************************************************************

December 23 – New Name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why? (Author: Becca Wilcott)

It almost doesn’t matter how I introduce myself to people; they never call me what I want to be called.  I prefer to be called Jessie, but most folks call me Jess.  Which is fine, but still.  I wouldn’t change my name to anything else, though.

*******************************************************************************

December 24 Prompt – Everything’s OK. What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead? (Author: Kate Inglis)

I don’t know that I’ve had that moment yet, really.  Or if I have, I didn’t recognize it.  I mean, I know that overall, things are going to be OK, but sometimes that’s difficult to recognize.

********************************************************************************

[I’m skipping the prompt for Dec. 25 because it asks me to post a photo, and I just don’t have the energy to right now.]

December 26 – Soul Food. What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul? (Author: Elise Marie Collins)

I’m trying to cook from scratch more, and that definitely has soul.  Ultimately, within 10 years, I’d like to grow our own food and become as self-sufficient as possible.  But I can’t think of one particular thing I ate this year that touched my soul.  Maybe the lobster I ate in Maine because I was relaxed and enjoying my vacation with The Husband.

**************************************************************************************

December 27 – Ordinary Joy. Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year? (Author: Brené Brown)

I’m filled with joy whenever my son smiles at me, or claps his hands.  Really.  It can break me out of whatever funk or stress I’m feeling.  Sometimes it’s too short-lived, but it does fill me with joy.

**************************************************************************************

December 28 – Achieve. What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful?

I’m sure I’ll write a more detailed post soon that outlines my goals for 2011, but for now I’ll say that I want to simplify.  I want to de-clutter, de-stress, and focus on the important things in life rather than just stuff.

***************************************************************************************

December 29 – Defining Moment. Describe a defining moment or series of events that has affected your life this year. (Author: Kathryn Fitzmaurice)

I feel like I’ve already written about this in another (several?) prompt, but the defining moment of 2010 was giving birth to my son.  It has changed my life profoundly, and will continue to do so for some time.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in reverb10. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

