More Catching Up on Reverb10

For the month of December, I’m participating in a wonderful project called Reverb10. It calls for bloggers to reflect on daily prompts in preparation for 2011. For more information, see Reverb10.

[I’m sorry I’m so behind on responses.  I’m giving my last final today, and hope to be able to respond daily from now on!]

December 16 – Friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst? (Author: Martha Mihalick)

Honestly, I can’t think of any cases this year when a friend has changed my perspective on things.  Is that bad?

*****************************************************************************************

December 17 – Lesson Learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward? (Author: Tara Weaver)

The biggest lesson I learned this year is that parenthood isn’t easy.  Or, maybe it was more that I’m more selfish than I thought.  I’ve had a difficult time this year with losing most of my independence.  My world revolves around my son now.  Which, for the most part, is absolutely fine.  But sometimes, I want to be able to go somewhere by myself instead of taking The Kid with me (along with the diaper bag, and everything else he needs).  There are times I’m mentally kicking and screaming because I want (need) to be off Mommy Duty for a while.  For a minute.  For a second?  So, I need to work on being more patient and less selfish.

*****************************************************************************************

December 18 – Try. What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it? (Author: Kaileen Elise)

Oh, I always have big plans every year for things I want to try.  I’ll do a post about it near January 1, I’m sure.  Some of the things I wanted to do for 2010 I accomplished, other things…well, not so much mostly due to The Kid or sheer laziness.  But I need to get better at accomplishing my goals.

******************************************************************************************

December 19 – Healing. What healed you this year? Was it sudden, or a drip-by-drip evolution? How would you like to be healed in 2011? (Author: Leonie Allan)

My son healed me.  I don’t want to get into details, but for a long time, I thought I wasn’t meant to be a mother.  Despite my challenges, he is the absolute best thing that ever happened to me, aside from my husband. 

**************************************************************************************

December 20 – Beyond Avoidance. What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

I should have applied for more teaching positions.  I applied for one full-time position, but didn’t get a phone call.  I should branch out to adjunct at other colleges, but I’m afraid to leave my comfort zone.  I love the school I’m at, but I really need a FT gig.  I’m definitely going to apply as opportunities arise in 2011.

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in reverb10. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

