You Must Chill!

More than once in my life, I’ve decided that I need someone like Lloyd Dobler in my life.  Today, I need him to tell me to chill. 

(Seriously, if you’ve never seen Say Anything, you need to ASAP).

Somehow, over the last 3+ years, I’ve lost the ability to relax.  Oh, I’ve always had a tendency to be a little over-analytical, and to over-think things too much, but I could always take a step back and chill.  Today, not so much. 

The littlest things overwhelm me.  A lot.

Dieting is an issue because I don’t know what I want to do.  Should I go back to Weight Watchers? Count calories on MyFitnessPal? Track electronically or on paper? If I track on paper, should it be a separate tracker, or in my planner?

Ah, the planner issue! I found a great app that could work, but I prefer pen & paper. But I can’t find the perfect planner that allows me to see my weekly appointments and keep track of my tasks. If you knew the amount of planner angst I have, you’d be…terrified.  It’s bad.  Very bad.  And something that, honestly, plagues me daily, and gets worse when I’m in the midst of the semester with a billion things to do.

Entertaining the kids overwhelms me.  I want to take KidPilgrim outside to play in his kiddie pool, but what do I do with BabyPilgrim? I don’t want him crawling on the ground so much, so do I hold him? Do I take the pack & play outside for him? It all overwhelms me to the point where we don’t go out much.  Which I know isn’t fun for the kids.

I need to relax. I need to simplify, and just go with the flow.  But I’ve over-thought myself into such a corner that it’s hard to dig out.

Plus, for me, summer is almost over, which is adding to my sense of…doom.  I start classes on August 26th, so fun time will be limited after that.  I wanted to enjoy my summer, and get healthy, and have fun.  So far, that hasn’t happened. 

Anyone know where I can find Lloyd Dobler?

About JessieB

Just a 30-something girl trying to figure it all out. I write about weight loss, books, motherhood, life, and whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Must Chill!

  1. idontcare63@aol.com says:

    You can relax…it is soooo easy….Just breathe in and breathe out….whewwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!! You can do it!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. idontcare63@aol.com says:

    Or you can go back to Jordan Pond!!!!

  3. Colleen Fender says:

    Life is overwhelming. We allow ourselves to get lost in it and then hate ourselves for it when really all we’re doing is trying to continue to beat the notion into our brains that we aren’t good enough….a good enough mother, wife, friend, teacher, etc.

    We are. We know deep down in the parts of us that we keep tucked away from the world that we really are good enough. Instead of letting that notion shine we just pile more shit on top and look for more things to make us crazy.

Leave a Reply

